The Seven Joys of Mary


Next to the devotion to the Seven Sorrows of Mary is that to the Seven Joys. Initially there were five; later the number 7 was taken to the seven hours of the Ecclesiastical Hours, because this devotion soon found common expression in short Hours.

It is mainly distributed in and by the Order of the Franciscans (H. Bernardinus of Siena, H.

The Seven Joys of Mary are

  1. The Annunciation
  2. The Nativity of Jesus
  3. The Adoration of the Magi
  4. The Resurrection of Christ
  5. The Ascension of Christ to Heaven
  6. The Pentecost or Descent of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles and Mary
  7. The Coronation of the Virgin in Heaven